The Resiliency Workshops

I was serious in the last post, when I said that focusing on Lifeworth over Networth was going to be a goal of mine in 2013. So along with spending a lot of quality time with my wife and son, and growing Givyup, and working my day job, and occasionally updating the blog…I’m embarking on a bit of a journey to help build resiliency into our communities. Because apparently I need 8 projects at the same time.

Screen Shot 2013-01-23 at 10.19.34 PM

I’m doing this through a series of workshops, called The Resiliency Workshops. I just did a workshop today at iWeek/Global Environmental and Outdoor Education Conference at the University of Alberta, and I’m lined up for a few teacher’s conventions this month and next.

What are these workshops about? A variety of things, but notably I’m focusing on two areas, Change and Resiliency.

The ChangeMaker’s workshops are designed to provide a sound theoretical background and some hands-on practical skills for making change happen. From individuals changing their lifestyle habits and patterns, to organizations changing their focus and dealing with change, the ChangeMaker workshop is the perfect prerequisite to any change process.

Screen Shot 2013-01-23 at 10.14.41 PM

The Resiliency Workshops are broken down into 3 streams, Resilient Family, Resilient Classroom and Resilient Systems. Although some of the content overlaps, the connections that are drawn and the areas of focus vary greatly, depending on the audience.

Why the focus on resiliency? Isaac Asimov (a notable author) wrote;

“It is change, continuing change, inevitable change, that is the dominant factor in society today. No sensible decision can be made any longer without taking into account not only the world as it is, but the world as it will be…

In this constantly fluxing world, where the pace of innovation and disruption seems to be steady and unrelenting, it’s enormously important that we find a way to foster resiliency in ourselves, families and communities. I witness this first-hand through my work with young addicts and their families, and through my own journey with my diabetes diagnosis and ensuing lifestyle changes.

Screen Shot 2013-02-01 at 8.32.23 PM

So, there it is. I’m taking up my own challenge from some previous posts to get out there and do something about creating the world I want. It’s no longer enough to tweet and blog about it, it’s time to engage others in becoming active participants in their lives and their communities.

You can check them out at www.resiliencyworkshops.com.

One comment

What do you think?

